Thursday, August 13, 2009

HIstory Of MDSU Ajmer

The University was established on 1 August 1987 as the University of Ajmer under the University of Ajmer Act passed by the State Legislature.The name of the University was changed on 5 May 1992.
Jurisdiction of the university extends to entire State of Rajasthan.

Since the day of its inception the University was entrusted with a major responsibility of conducting the examination of nearly 1.5 lakh students of colleges spread over the six divisions of the state. In 1990 teaching began in History, Political science , zoology, botany and mathematics departments. In 1991, M. Phil, teaching programmes were initiated by History, Political Science, Botany departments and later promising job oriented courses such as PG diplomas in Environmental Technology, Microbiology and lab. technology and instrumentation were started. In 1993, after shifting to new campus, departments of microbiology, foods and nutrition, applied chemistry, management studies and computer applications were created offering M. Sc., MBA, PG Diploma and Ph. D. programmes.

In a short span of seven years academic wing of University came out with enormous research work in the form of publications, Ph. D. thesis and research projects. In 1998 university started PG programme in Environmental Science, and in 2000 PG programmes in Botany Zoology, Business Economics , Commerce, Population Studies, History, Political Science and Computer Science with specialisations that did not exist other colleges in Ajmer.

At present there are 24 teaching departments viz. History, Political Science and Public Administration, Economics, Botany, Zoology, Pure and Applied Chemistry, Environmental studies, Remote Sensing and GeoInformatics, Foods and Nutrition, Microbiology, Computer Applications, Population Studies, Commerce and Management Studies, Law, Education, Physical Education, Dept. of Yogic Sciences and Human Consciousness, Enterpreneurship & Small Business Management, Centre for Defence and Strategic Studies, Dept. of Library & Information Sciences and Bharat Vidhya Adhyan Sankul.
National Accredition and Assessment Council of India has accredited Maharshi Dayanand Saraswati University by B++ rating

Sources: Wikipidia
By Shriram Sharma

Maharshi Dayanand Saraswati University Ajmer

Welcome to Maharshi Dayanand Saraswati University, Ajmer

Ajmer is home to Mayo college, founded by the British Raj in 1870 to educate the children of Rajputana's nobles on the lines of an English public school. Ajmer is also home to the famous Sophia Girls' School and Sophia College, and the historic Ajmer Music College, founded in 1942, the first accredited institution in Rajputana for teaching classical Hindustani music.

Other educational institutions which prominently shape the academic environment of Ajmer before India became independent are the Government College, Savitri Girls' School & College, D.A.V. College, Government High School, St. Anslem's High School, St. Mary's Convent Girls' School, Gujarati School, King George Royal Indian Military School, St. Paul's School, Moinia Islamia High School, Oswal Jain High School, Husband Memorial High School, Agarwal School, Govt. Central Girls' High School, Arya Putri Pathshala, and Saraswati Balika Vidyalaya. The Board of Education was, and still is, located in Ajmer.

Among the other accredited institutions in Ajmer are Regional Institute of Education (RIE), one of the four nationally reputed NCERT colleges, RIE Demonstration School, Maheshwari Public School, Maharishi Dayanand Saraswati University, Jawahar Lal Nehru Medical College, Government Engineering College and Ajmer Institute of Technology.